Eragon by Christopher Paolini is a Fantasy novel showcased in the Outpost10F Library.
Rating:The Fantasy novel Eragon by Christopher Paolini has been rated 5/5 by this reviewer.
Author: Christopher Paolini
Published: August, 2003
Series: Inheritance Trilogy, #1
Review by: CL2 Noukie

Order from
Summary of the book: The story starts off with a boy, Eragon, who is 15 years old and his family doesn't have much money. It's almost winter and he's in a place called "The Spine" to look for food. During his days tracking animals he finds a beautiful blue "stone". But this is not just any ordinary stone. Not many day's later a glittering dragon is born, Saphira. Eragon's life is then forever changed.

When he arrives at the farm he sees a sight that will never leave him. His home in ashes, his uncle dying and footprints of enemies. When his uncle dies of wounds that nobody has ever survived from, he is determined to get revenge. With Saphira and a companion, Brom, he goes on a journey that will keep on suprising you.

Review: This story is just something you can't stop reading. You will get to know different kinds of people and races. As in races I mean: Elves, Dwarfs, Dragons, Urgals, Humans and Dragon Riders. Christopher Paolini describes the surroundings of the people to the last detail. You can easily picture it all in your mind while you read. You also get to know the characters extremelly well, and you uncover their shocking histories. The map that is in the Deluxe Edition also helps you understand how much Eragon and his friends have to travel to get to ceratain destinations.

This book is just full of magic, humour, and thrilling events. When you finish it you eagerly want to continue on to the next book, Eldest. If you ever get the chance to read it, take it! It's a book that is worth reading.

About the Author: Christopher Paolini started to write Eragon when he was 15. Now he is 19 and writing the second volume Eldest of the trilogy Inheritance. Apparently a movie is also being made which will come out sometime this year (2005) and the Second volume will come out in August this year as well.


Title: Eragon
Series: Inheritance Trilogy #1
Author: Christopher Paolini
Reviewed: CL2 Noukie