Dark Journey by Elaine Cunningham is a Star Wars novel showcased in the Outpost 10F Library
Order from
The New Jedi Order - Book 10

Dark Journey

Rating: Dark Journey by Elaine Cunningham, a Star Wars novel has been rated 5/5 by this reviewer.
Timeline: 25-30 Years after the Battle at Yavin
Author: Elaine Cunningham
Published: February, 2002
Review by: CL7 Dracmus

Old Friends: Luke Skywalker, Mara Jade Skywalker, Han Solo, Leia Organa Solo, Jaina Solo, Lowbacca, Tenel Ka, Teneniel Djo, Prince Isolder, Ta’a Chume, Zekk, Kyp Durron, Harrar, Khalee Lah, Tsavong Lah

New Faces: Jagged Fel, Trisdin Gheer

Places: Myrkr, Coruscant, Hapes Cluster

Synopsis: Jaina, Lowbacca, Tenel Ka and Zekk return from their mission in the stolen Yuuzan Vong freighter. With them is also the body of Anakin Solo, who had died during their mission against the Vong. Holding back the enemy long enough for the others to escape, Jacen Solo has been captured by Vergere. They return to Coruscant, where they find their home being attacked by a large Yuuzan Vong Fleet.

Review: Every one who can has made it on a ship and is trying to flee from Coruscant. Many don’t survive - a few manage to get to the Hapes Cluster, a system which the Yuuzan Vong did not attack until now. But accepting refugees is like signing up for war with the Yuuzan Vong. Han, Leia, Luke and Mara are there as well. The Hapan queen Teniel Djo has made clear that refugees are now welcome in the Hapes Cluster. The Ta’a Chume (queen mother) decides that the queen is unfit to rule, especially when there is a war coming. Prince Isolder will have to find a new queen, a suitable replacement and soon.

The Jedi have been working the Vong ship the ‘Trickster’. They have come to understand part of it and have started making adjustments. They all felt that Jacen said his goodbyes through the Force - it seems like he has died. Only Leia isn’t convinced. They all give Anakin a Jedi burial ceremony. Jaina gets close to the Dark Side. Kyp Durron and Tenel Ka try to keep an eye on her. But the Vong are gathering their ships. As if every one didn’t have enough on their minds yet.

It’s a good book, and all about Jaina. The Ta’a Chume has a large role in this book as well. Making plans for the future of Hapes, plans concerning the Solo family. There isn’t much happening with Luke, Mara or the rest of the Jedi and the Republic. Jaina is the main character here, with a few smaller roles for her parents. There are also a few nice roles for the Royal House of Hapes. We get to know who things are there, and what plans the former queen is making.

You also see a nice part here for Jaina’s friends, who see her move toward the dark side. And will not let that happen.

Title: Dark Journey
Series: New Jedi Order
Author: Elaine Cunningham
Review by: CL7 Dracmus