The Shattered Peace by Jude Watson is a Star Wars novel showcased in the Outpost 10F Library.
Order from!
The Shattered Peace

Rating: The Star Wars novel The Shattered Peace by Jude Watson has been rated 3/5 by this reviewer.

Timeline: Immediately after Book 9
Author: Jude Watson
Published: October, 2000
Review by: CL7 Kali D'or

Old Friends: Obi Wan Kenobi, Qui-Gon Jinn

New Faces: King Frane, Prince Leed, Prince Taroon, Wek, Drenna

Places: Rutan, Senali

Synopsis: For generations, the Crown Princes on Rutan and Senali have switched places and peace has lasted. But now, The Prince of Rutan wnats to come home, and Obi Wan and Qui-Gon have been sent to restore the peace before the planets resort to war.

Review: This one was OK, but not great. The Jedi Apprentice books are written for the Young reader, ages 9-12 and even though it is geared to that audience, it was not quite up to the standards of the other books in the series.

The plot was pretty standard and predictable. Prince goes missing, King gets mad, call in the Jedi, follow the girl, find Prince, problem solved. That's pretty much in a nutshell. There were a few good lightsaber fights, and some funny dialogue, but for the most part, Qui-Gon took center stage and Obi Wan kinda hung out in the back ground. The Prince's, both Leed and Taroon were a bit annoying, but they were teenagers and being a bit older, maybe I just didn't appreciate their moodiness and annoyance at parental control. I did like the interaction of the families on Senali, and found the planets ecosystem and the inhabitants interaction with it well integrated into the story.

Although this one didn't jump off the page and grab me like some of the others in the series, it is still worth a read for those who want to explore the personal relationship between Padawan and Master as we get to know Qui-Gon and Obi Wan in their days before TPM.

Title: The Shattered Peace
Series: Jedi Apprentice #10
Author: Jude Watson
Review by: CL7 Kali D'or